Want to try 2-handed bowling. What to do with none-bowling hand?

You can post any bowling related topics here.

Moderator: Moderators

henromon

Want to try 2-handed bowling. What to do with none-bowling hand?

Post by henromon »

Hi everyone.

A little bit of backstory: so I am pretty new to bowling and have started my bowling journey a few months ago. I got my first ball which is a 14lb Rhino and I got it drilled fingertip-style. I am currently a right-handed, single-handed, thumb-in bowler. I have managed to work a lot on my 4-step timing and my swing. My timing seems to be good and my swing is straight.

The only issue that I have left is that my thumb-fit is not cooperating with me. I have been pulling very nasty blisters left and right. I have been to my PSO multiple times to get my span and thumb hole checked. At first my span was too long. Now it is the perfect span. After that my thumb hole was too big, and I have a flat thumb, so I asked my PSO to drill me an oval and snugger hole, but still enough room too experiment with tape. Once that was sorted out and I went back to bowling again, I continued having very bad blisters (not calluses) on my thumb. I could go back to change my pitches, but I am getting a little bit tired of this thumb-fiasco. I want to practise more and more, but my thumb won't allow me, even with tape. I want to mention tohugh that I am not gripping the ball with my thumb. The thumbhole is snug enough for me to do a very relaxed throw, and the ball does not snag on my thumb at the release. It comes off effortlessly.

So I have been thinking about moving over to a 2-handed approach. Although this means that I need to start from scratch again, I absolutely do not mind to do so.

Now there is one thing that I am a little confused about in terms of doing the swing in a 2-handed approach, and I cannot find any answer on the internet or on any video that discusses 2-handed bowling: