Board index » General Forums » The Pro Shop




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 26 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Vise Vacuum System
 Posted: Fri Apr 06, 2018 3:09 am Post Number: #21 Post
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: April 26, 2007
Posts: 4314
Location: Malta, NY
Reputation: 949
Reputation Power: 10
I've got no experience, but check Mo's posts on the subject.

search.php?st=0&sk=t&sd=d&sr=posts&author=mo+pinel

_________________
Please press the Image button if you feel I've been helpful.

“When you prepare for everything, you’re ready for anything.” - Bill Walsh


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Vise Vacuum System
 Posted: Fri Apr 06, 2018 12:37 pm Post Number: #22 Post
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: July 9, 2012
Posts: 1341
Location: Central Florida
Reputation: 462
Reputation Power: 5
MegaMav wrote:
I've got no experience, but check Mo's posts on the subject.

search.php?st=0&sk=t&sd=d&sr=posts&author=mo+pinel


FYI: This thread isn't about "Vacu-grip" inserts or the fake vacu-grip, It's about Vise's "Vacuum" system for the Pro-shop for sucking up dust and shaving's.

VISE Vacuum System:

_________________
Click my green + rep button if this helps!
"REMEMBER, it isn't how much the ball hooks, it's where."


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Vise Vacuum System
 Posted: Fri Apr 06, 2018 8:05 pm Post Number: #23 Post
Offline
BCU Graduate Layouts

Joined: January 24, 2012
Posts: 468
Reputation: 70
Reputation Power: 1
The Kid wrote:
Anyone here have experience with this system?

I had the system in my old shop before it shut down. Prior to buying it I had a vacuum under the workbench and a vacuum by the drill press and they were in 2 separate rooms. Vacuums were about 20 feet apart. I bought the system and bought a bigger vacuum, I don't remember the size, but it was from Home Depot I think. I stuck it in a cabinet in the back room and basically we just ran PVC everywhere we needed a hose. I wound up with 2 vacuums on the bench and the one at the press. There wasn't enough suction in the system to use all 3 of the hoses at once. The line furthest from the vacuum didn't suck well in that case. The main problem was you either had to leave to vacuum going all the time while in the shop, because you didn't want to walk to the back and turn it on everytime it was needed, or you had to had a switch that worked it from both rooms. I think we wound up getting some type of wireless switch setup. The bags filled up way too fast with all of the shop dust and trimmings going to one place, where before it was collected in 2 different containers.

Bottom line, I won't be purchasing it again if I do another shop.

_________________
James Talley


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Vise Vacuum System
 Posted: Sat Apr 07, 2018 11:18 pm Post Number: #24 Post
Offline
Trusted Source

Joined: July 30, 2010
Posts: 343
Location: Tucson, AZ
Reputation: 49
Reputation Power: 1
Thanks for the replies. Ours isn't used because of loss of suction. The PSO also mentioned three PVC pipes would get blocked in the corners. Oh well!


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Vise Vacuum System
 Posted: Mon Apr 09, 2018 3:27 am Post Number: #25 Post
Offline
Member

Joined: March 5, 2010
Posts: 77
Reputation: 19
Reputation Power: 1
Installed Vise system in shop 3 months ago. Vacuum in cupboard & noise dramatically reduced. No more dust ... air & shop are super clean. Lost some suction, but still enough to do a good job. Bags have ample capacity ... adjust bag when system indicates full & get a few more weeks of work/ball shavings. Key is "good configuration" for your specific shop .... 10-15 yrs from now your lungs will be thanking u!


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Vise Vacuum System
 Posted: Mon Apr 09, 2018 3:25 pm Post Number: #26 Post
Offline
Trusted Source

Joined: January 30, 2010
Posts: 3369
Location: Hawesville KY/Tell City IN
Reputation: 277
Reputation Power: 3
You could place a separator on a metal garbage can (see link below) between the collection site and the vacuum source to minimize the dust that gets to the bag. If that reduces the vacuum too much Grizzly also has a 1 hp dust collector, second link below. -- JohnP

http://www.grizzly.com/products/30-Gall ... ator/W1049

http://www.grizzly.com/products/1-HP-Li ... ies/G1163P


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 26 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

Board index » General Forums » The Pro Shop


 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron