Looking for Perfect Ball

Bowling ball related topics including new products, arsenals and comparisons.

Moderator: Moderators

ctriopelle

Looking for Perfect Ball

Post by ctriopelle »

Hi all, new to the forum and it looks like a great resource!

I've been bowling for 30+ years but only got decent in the last 15 or so. At my peak I averaged almost 210, but was over 200 for several years. Then something happened about 3-4 years ago and I've regressed back to 180-185 average with an occasional 250+ game a couple times a year. My strong part of my game when I was on was a decent strike percentage, a bad night was 15-16, with good nights in mid 20's.

What I feel has changed most was when my Vortex V2 Particle cracked in half one summer while in storage. I could play that ball more or less straight down 10 and it would come in for smashing strikes. I've had several balls since and they all of them hook so much that I'm having to play all the way left on the alley just to keep it on the RH side of the pocket. I really struggle with keeping my shoulders that far open during my delivery and miss way left quite often (I miss a lot of 10 pins inside also, even throwing plastic). When I hit my targets any of my balls have worked great but my confidence is mostly shot for repeating my mark. On one hand I know I should work on my shotmaking to get better at all angles, but life is getting in the way of devoting much extra time at changing my game much. I just miss being able to shoot up the RH side fairly square and happily finding the pocket!