Board index » General Forums » Ball Talk




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: question regarding the tournament ball (two fingers)
 Posted: Fri Jul 12, 2019 2:09 pm Post Number: #1 Post
Offline
Member

Joined: January 2, 2017
Posts: 94
Reputation: 0
Reputation Power: 1
Dear All

Kindly note that we have a player that is playing with no thumb (just two fingers), according to the new rules and regulations (if I am correct), states that either the player's ball will have the thumb hole or the balance hole.

Two Questions:

1- when did this rule come out (how long ago), and when would it be implemented in the tournaments??

2- what about the spare ball does it have to have the same aspects as the first ball or does it not matter (even though I have never seen a balance hole on a spare ball, but still just to be clear).

I thank you for your kind attention and looking forward to hear from you.

Best regards
HAKiani


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: question regarding the tournament ball (two fingers)
 Posted: Fri Jul 12, 2019 3:22 pm Post Number: #2 Post
Offline
Member

Joined: January 24, 2017
Posts: 395
Location: Valrico Florida
Reputation: 55
Reputation Power: 1
https://www.bowl.com/News/NewsDetails.aspx?id=23622331380

This is for USBC, check each tournament for their own rules.

_________________
Stacy


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: question regarding the tournament ball (two fingers)
 Posted: Fri Jul 12, 2019 4:15 pm Post Number: #3 Post
Offline
Member

Joined: March 21, 2019
Posts: 52
Reputation: 7
Reputation Power: 1
Kiani wrote:
Dear All

Kindly note that we have a player that is playing with no thumb (just two fingers), according to the new rules and regulations (if I am correct), states that either the player's ball will have the thumb hole or the balance hole.

Two Questions:

1- when did this rule come out (how long ago), and when would it be implemented in the tournaments??

2- what about the spare ball does it have to have the same aspects as the first ball or does it not matter (even though I have never seen a balance hole on a spare ball, but still just to be clear).

I thank you for your kind attention and looking forward to hear from you.

Best regards
HAKiani


AS OF 8/2020 ALL HOLES THAT WILL not BE USED DURING DELIVERY MUST BE PLUGGED.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: question regarding the tournament ball (two fingers)
 Posted: Fri Jul 12, 2019 4:30 pm Post Number: #4 Post
Offline
Member

Joined: October 5, 2012
Posts: 131
Reputation: 26
Reputation Power: 1
Hi Kiani - what is your sanctioning or rules body? That's kind of the problem here - we go by USBC rules which now say that you may ONLY have holes that you use - no thumb, means no thumb hole (and a mark to show which way the ball is oriented) and no more balance holes.

But that does not necessarily mean that's the rules YOU will bowl under. . .


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: question regarding the tournament ball (two fingers)
 Posted: Tue Jul 16, 2019 4:57 pm Post Number: #5 Post
Offline
Member

Joined: January 2, 2017
Posts: 94
Reputation: 0
Reputation Power: 1
boomer wrote:
Hi Kiani - what is your sanctioning or rules body? That's kind of the problem here - we go by USBC rules which now say that you may ONLY have holes that you use - no thumb, means no thumb hole (and a mark to show which way the ball is oriented) and no more balance holes.

But that does not necessarily mean that's the rules YOU will bowl under. . .



Dear Boomer and all

thank you for the information, the tournament is the World Tournament, and one of the players plays with 2 fingers and no thumb and I need to know that if he has to ad justify his ball for the new rule or not??

Also his spare ball is he able to use his 3 fingers for the spare or does he have to use 2 finger with no thumb as well for the spare ball???

I thank you all for you kind attention.

Best regards
HAKiani


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: question regarding the tournament ball (two fingers)
 Posted: Tue Jul 16, 2019 8:08 pm Post Number: #6 Post
Offline
Member

Joined: January 24, 2017
Posts: 395
Location: Valrico Florida
Reputation: 55
Reputation Power: 1
World Bowling follows USBC rules so the link I attached earlier applies. So as of next August he can only have 2 holes in his ball period if he doesn’t use a thumb. There is no difference between a strike or spare ball. He will also have to mark the ball where his palm goes when he grips it. I know this is not your first language, trying not to make it too difficult.

_________________
Stacy


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: question regarding the tournament ball (two fingers)
 Posted: Tue Jul 16, 2019 9:15 pm Post Number: #7 Post
Offline
Member

Joined: November 17, 2011
Posts: 71
Reputation: 5
Reputation Power: 1
He may be like Osku & shoot some spares one handed

_________________
Senior Bowler
Tilt 23
Rot 20-40
Speed off hand 17-18
Rev 200-250
PAP 4 5/8 over 1 up RH'd 185+ On THS


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: question regarding the tournament ball (two fingers)
 Posted: Wed Jul 17, 2019 2:35 am Post Number: #8 Post
Offline
Member

Joined: January 24, 2017
Posts: 395
Location: Valrico Florida
Reputation: 55
Reputation Power: 1
davidjr113 wrote:
He may be like Osku & shoot some spares one handed

Might be, hard to say when it’s been answered a couple of times and the clarity isn’t there yet.

_________________
Stacy


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: question regarding the tournament ball (two fingers)
 Posted: Wed Jul 17, 2019 4:24 pm Post Number: #9 Post
Offline
Member

Joined: October 5, 2012
Posts: 131
Reputation: 26
Reputation Power: 1
So, my understanding is that if you use a thumb for spares but no thumb for strike balls, you'll need a separate ball for spares.

So, yes, once the new rules come into effect, he will need to plug all holes other than the ones he uses, specifically.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: question regarding the tournament ball (two fingers)
 Posted: Sat Jul 20, 2019 7:35 am Post Number: #10 Post
Offline
Member

Joined: January 2, 2017
Posts: 94
Reputation: 0
Reputation Power: 1
boomer wrote:
So, my understanding is that if you use a thumb for spares but no thumb for strike balls, you'll need a separate ball for spares.

So, yes, once the new rules come into effect, he will need to plug all holes other than the ones he uses, specifically.


Dear boomer and all

Thank you for the information.

regards
HAKiani


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: question regarding the tournament ball (two fingers)
 Posted: Sat Jul 20, 2019 9:30 pm Post Number: #11 Post
Offline
Certified Coach

Joined: December 13, 2014
Posts: 1270
Location: San Juan, PR
Reputation: 244
Reputation Power: 3
44boyd wrote:
World Bowling follows USBC rules so the link I attached earlier applies. So as of next August he can only have 2 holes in his ball period if he doesn’t use a thumb. There is no difference between a strike or spare ball. He will also have to mark the ball where his palm goes when he grips it. I know this is not your first language, trying not to make it too difficult.


I may be wrong but I believe World Bowling doesn’t necessarily follow USBC rules.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: question regarding the tournament ball (two fingers)
 Posted: Sat Jul 20, 2019 10:55 pm Post Number: #12 Post
Offline
Member

Joined: January 24, 2017
Posts: 395
Location: Valrico Florida
Reputation: 55
Reputation Power: 1
https://www.worldbowling.org/about/rules/

Link attached

_________________
Stacy


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 

Board index » General Forums » Ball Talk


 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: