Modifying Two-Handed Technique

You can post any bowling related topics here.

Moderator: Moderators

jegreco516
Preferred Company: Storm

Modifying Two-Handed Technique

Post by jegreco516 »

Hi all,

I have been bowling two-handed for a few years and am concerned the longevity of the technique for myself. I have some back issues that are relatively in check but I am interested in examining my technique options to ensure my physical health as I age. Due to a thumb injury, I prefer to bowl without a thumb which led me down the two-handed path. What I want to know is if there are potential modifications to this technique that can reduce stress to the lower back. Specifically, reduce forward and lateral spine tilt. I know that spine tilt is an essential piece of the two handed game but is it possible to stay more upright using this technique? I am fine with making sacrifices on rev rate and lane play options if a reduced spine tilt is possible. I would love to hear some input from coaches or fellow two-handers. Thank you!

Jeremy
44boyd
Preferred Company: Radical, Brunswick

Re: Modifying Two-Handed Technique

Post by 44boyd »

They’d need a video to see what you’re doing from the side and back views. Kyle Troup seems to be the most upright out there.
Stacy
kajmk
Trusted Source
Trusted Source

Post by kajmk »

Jeremy, hopefully you have periodic wellness checks with your doctor. If you've not discussed your concerns, you might want to consider it. Also, letting the doctor see you in action via a short recording would be helpful. Your doctor or trainer can design a program for you to strengthen your core to help protect your back.