Thumb Pitch Inquiry

You can post any bowling related topics here.

Moderator: Moderators

Skujo

Thumb Pitch Inquiry

Post by Skujo »

Im fairly new to the game, been at it for over a year or so and am semi up there in age. Im having a problem with the pitches in my thumb hole. Ive had three diff coaches/drillers tell me i need diff pitches on my thumb. I have one ball set up with 3/8 side pitch and 1/8 reverse pitch. My other ball has 1/8 side and 1/4 reverse pitch. Im sure it all comes down to comfort level and form. The differing recommendations kind of throw me off though. One night i throw one ball well, another night the other ball feels better and i perform better with it. One coach goes by the span chart to determine reverse pitch, which puts me at 1/4 reverse. What is the benefit of side pitch though, what are the cons?
Glenn

Re: Thumb Pitch Inquiry

Post by Glenn »

Hi, Skujo, and welcome.
I will give you one man's opinion.
The reverse thumb pitch will cause the thumb to leave the ball "earlier" while forward thumb pitch will hold the ball longer. The 1/8 to 1/4 reverse seems to be good choices.
As far as I know, there are no accepted values when it comes to lateral thumb pitch. The primary goal is to create a feel for a clean and injury-free release. Due to hand injuries and the wear-and-tear of age, I had to do some experimenting to find the most comfortable fit for me. My personal preference to have 5/8-to-3/4 left.
Have you done the Coke can overlay for thumb pitch to give you a place to start?
Increasing left lateral thumb pitch (for right-handers) allows the thumb to release more quickly, but it is all about avoiding any discomfort while not grabbing or dropping the ball. A left pitch may make it easier to stay behind the ball. I guess the goal is to be able to manipulate the ball and be accurate/consistent without discomfort.