Making practices count

You can post any bowling related topics here.

Moderator: Moderators

skfboiler
Heavy Oil Ball: Storm Supernova
Medium Oil Ball: Rotorgrip Idol Cosmos
Light Oil Ball: Storm Punch Out
Preferred Company: Storm

Making practices count

Post by skfboiler »

I'm 53yrs old and relatively a new bowler. I've been bowling for about 4 years now, averaged about 180 in this past winter league. To get ready for league season, I've been practicing once a week at the bowling center. I do not think I'm getting a lot out of practicing because I'm really not working on any specific aspect. How do I get the best out of the practice sessions to improve for the upcoming bowling season? Can someone describe what a particular practice session looks like?
Last edited by skfboiler on June 24th, 2018, 4:42 am, edited 1 time in total.
My Arsenal: Storm Supernova, Storm Absolute, Storm Phaze 3, Rotogrip Idol Cosmos, 900 Global Zen Master, and Storm Punch Out
gunso

Re: Making practices count

Post by gunso »

I'd start with dedicating the first 10-15 mins of most of them with spares. Especially corner spares. That will make the most difference in your average.

Other than that I'd look up Daria Pajaks and kegel drills from del warren on youtube and do them. Then shooy for score at the end of the session because practice also needa to be fun at your level of bowling

30 mins of dedicated practice to begin with is far greater than 3 hours of mindless bowling
TomaHawk
Pro Shop
Pro Shop

Post by TomaHawk »

Just like any sport, it's best to seek advice from an instructor of some sort. They can at least get you started on the right path and provide you with a definitive direction to take in your practice sessions. The process of obtaining sound advice is uncomfortable for a lot of people. But, anything other than that is a shot in the dark.
krava
Probation
Probation
Preferred Company: hammer

Post by krava »