Overcoming Slow Starts

Coaching help from all community members.

Moderator: Moderators

jthenry24

Overcoming Slow Starts

Post by jthenry24 »

Hey Everyone,

It's my first time here and I'm looking for some suggestions...

For the past 3 weeks straight during league bowling I've had a horrible first game and rebounded with 2 very good games. Currently, my overall average is climbing, but these first games are killing me (PS- I doubled or struck out in the 10th of each of the first games to salvage these wretched scores). Long story short, I played through an injury for a while and my avg. started this season at 163 and now stands at 170.

2/24/20: 149, 230, 189 - Series 552
2/17/20: 154, 216, 185 - Series 555
2/10/20: 139, 190, 197 - Series 526

3 Week avg for first games for past 3 weeks: 147 :oops:
3 Week avg for 2nd/3rd games for past 3 weeks: 201 :D

So, my question is... does anyone have any suggestions to get in the flow of the game prior too or at the very least earlier in the first game?
MegaMav
THS Average: 225
Sport Average: 200
Positive Axis Point: 5.5 Over & 1 Up
Speed: 16.0 MPH - Camera
Rev Rate: 375
Axis Tilt: 14
Axis Rotation: 45
Heavy Oil Ball: Radical - Informer
Medium Oil Ball: Brunswick - Fearless
Light Oil Ball: Radical - Bonus Pearl
Preferred Company: Radical Bowling Technologies

Re: Overcoming Slow Starts

Post by MegaMav »

Move your feet around, sounds like you play too far out and transition on the back allows you to hold pocket later.
Move in to start.
kajmk
Trusted Source
Trusted Source

Post by kajmk »

Hi jthenry, welcome to bowling chat.

Axiom: You can't out bowl a bad fit (like running a sprint in shoes that do not fit)

As Eric said, you have to play the lane, the way it wants to be played. In doing so, you'll get to the pocket in better shape, get more strikes and when you don't, most of your spares will be easier.

I'd also seriously recommend practicing spares. We all want to strike more.