Pivot Step/Ball Speed

Coaching help from all community members.

Moderator: Moderators

pjape

Pivot Step/Ball Speed

Post by pjape »

I've noticed some issues with my game, and have a few questions. Sunday night I started practicing to get ready for fall league the end of August. I've been concentrating on specific skill drills, as opposed to just bowling game after game. Here are some interesting things I've noticed.

I start out with the foul line drill. I get positioned at the foul line, swing the ball once or twice, and release it. I noticed on the Quibica monitor that my ball speed was about 7.5 mph. Not surprising considering I had no approach.

Next, I did the one step drill. I did a normal push-away and swing, and then did my slide on the downswing. I was surprised my ball speed went up around 13.5 mph.

Here's where it gets interesting. When I do a full approach, my speed only goes up about 1 mph. I'm even trying to go to a 5 step approach to generate more speed. One would think if I can throw it 13.5 with only a slide, I should be able to generate much more speed with a full approach.

When I got home I watched a video of myself from the end of 2015. One thing I noticed is my pivot step is WAY too long. I wonder if this is what's screwing me up. I also noticed on the video myself lunging at the foul line when I throw the ball. I wonder if this too is caused by too long a pivot step. I did notice that the feel was very different when doing the drill as opposed to a full approach.

Do you think my self-analysis is correct? If not, I'd welcome some suggestions. You might disagree with my goal for this year, but it's basically to not suck. Last season I finished at 202; the two previous seasons at 203. Considering high average is 240 or higher, 202 is pretty bad.

Thanks!!
stevespo
THS Average: 225
Positive Axis Point: 5.75" x + 3/8"
Speed: 17+ off hand (camera)
Rev Rate: 375
Axis Tilt: 12
Axis Rotation: 45
Heavy Oil Ball: Phaze II, Altered Reality