New to bowling

Questions about coaching?

Moderator: Moderators

Woodd

New to bowling

Post by Woodd »

Hello, I am coaching our high school bowling team because no one else would do it. I have no bowling experience other than doing it for fun. Where is the best spot for me to go to learn more about how to coach my high school bowlers? I have watched basic videos but I need more information to help benefit my kids. Thank you
JimH
Pro Shop
Pro Shop

Re: New to bowling

Post by JimH »

I suggest that you contact the local bowling association and ask for assistance. The local association has a duty to promote and develop bowling in the area. You might also contact the bowling proprietors in the area, and also the other schools in the area. Each of these groups should be able to provide some assistance.
TomaHawk
Pro Shop
Pro Shop

Post by TomaHawk »

Woodd wrote: May 21st, 2021, 9:49 pm Hello, I am coaching our high school bowling team because no one else would do it. I have no bowling experience other than doing it for fun. Where is the best spot for me to go to learn more about how to coach my high school bowlers? I have watched basic videos but I need more information to help benefit my kids. Thank you
It's great that you have decided to get involved in high school bowling!

The most important thing is to make it fun.

Is there a pro shop you feel comfortable with? The pro shop is going to be a good source for information. They can help in the selection of equipment that will be critical to the bowling program too.

How advanced is the program? If everyone is relatively new, you can all grow together. If the bowlers are experienced, they'll probably let you know.

Internet videos are fine. Everyone has a little different take on what constitutes good bowling technique. As with anything, sorting out the relevant from the irrelevant is half the battle.