New inconsistent bowler looking for help!

Questions about coaching?

Moderator: Moderators

Augustblade

New inconsistent bowler looking for help!

Post by Augustblade »

Hi, this is Eric from Purdue University. My first post here, kinda nervous haha!

I am taking a bowling class this semester and already fall in love with it despite I have no experience before. I bought my own ball a month ago. It is a 10 pound, Columbus 300 Scout reactive ball. I know it is kinda light. I heard many people say to use a ball weighs 1/10 of your body weight. I weigh 132 lbs but my arms are pretty weak.

I bowl almost every day and usually bowl around 10 games when I'm there. I do drills too but not much. I average 110-130 and being very inconsistent. I started practicing sliding two weeks ago and now my score ranges from 80 to 160.

I recorded some videos today to see what I'm doing. Here is the link: " onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
I hope to get some tips on my approach and release. The ball doesn't seem to hook much. It's more like a straight ball with a 90 degree side rotation. My balance arm flies high also.

I feel like at a bottle neck now. I kinda want to move up to a heavier ball (12 to 13 lbs) but I don't know if I can hold it.

Unlike other people on the class, I really take the game serious and want to be good at it!

Link of my practice video: " onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

Duplicate in general discussion too just to look for help. Sorry if it violated rules, delete one if that's the case.
MegaMav
THS Average: 225
Sport Average: 200
Positive Axis Point: 5.5 Over & 1 Up
Speed: 16.0 MPH - Camera
Rev Rate: 375
Axis Tilt: 14
Axis Rotation: 45
Heavy Oil Ball: Radical - Informer
Medium Oil Ball: Brunswick - Fearless
Light Oil Ball: Radical - Bonus Pearl
Preferred Company: Radical Bowling Technologies

Re: New inconsistent bowler looking for help!

Post by MegaMav »

Jim, I moved this here for you.
I think there will be dialogue.
djp1080