Positive Axis Point: 7 1/2 - 1 1/8 ^
Speed: 16.5
Heavy Oil Ball: Radical Conspiracy
Medium Oil Ball: Brunswick Fortera
Light Oil Ball: Motiv Hydra
Preferred Company: TRACK

Completely Lost With Layouts...

Post by JBAOKWE »

I have been bowling for about 3-4 years. My average has stayed relatively the same with slight increases every year from around 210-212 average the first year to around 218-223 averages the last couple years. Although my mental and physical game has improved, I am still being severely handicapped by my inability to find any layouts that work consistently for me.

I throw from behind the ball a lot and many people think I do not have my thumb in the ball (although I do, but it is only about half-way in). I throw 16 lb ball around 16.5 speed so maybe slightly above avg speed and with above avg revs as well. I squeeze the ball with my hand while I throw. I have used equipment made for 3/4 track players and some of it works very well and some balls with the same layout do nothing. I have used lefty drilled equipment (I'm right handed) and was able to outhook them with their own ball easily. And other lefty layouts do nothing. I track VERY high, just to the left of my middle finger and just to the left of my thumb hole.

Because of my very high track I copied a full roller layout from Tom Smallwood on his Katana Slash. This layout has worked very well for me but the ball tracks laterally through my fingers. I'm interested in drilling more balls with the full roller layout but am not sure if I should be tracking this way or how to keep adjusting the full roller drilling to strengthen/weaken the ball.